Roman Conquests: Were the Leaders of the Tribes They Conquered Crucified?

Go to CruxDreams.com
Do the histories of Roman conquests show evidence that the First Families of their enemies were crucified?

I do know the conquered could find themselves paraded before the Roman people. Was crucifixion ever used afterward as a means of their public execution?

I'm no expert in Roman history, but if the question is "ever", ever is a long time. So, I'm sure it happened

However, as a general rule, great empires that last for centuries aren't built by killing everyone or even most of those you conquer. The secret sauce is to co-opt them, then as now.

I know this is CruxForum, but we shouldn't think that crucifixion was the main thing, the raison d'etre, that the Romans did, anymore than the electric chair was the main invention that the United States will be remembered for in history (at least one hopes not).

Thank you for this. Also, as a student of some history, yes - I agree with you that the vast majority of smaller empires merely became vassal states of the greater ones, or agreed to give them succor or make with them similar arrangements.

MY issue and fetish interests I suppose is the abuse of the "royal family" or other members of the court.

Do the histories of Roman conquests show evidence that the First Families of their enemies were crucified?

I do know the conquered could find themselves paraded before the Roman people. Was crucifixion ever used afterward as a means of their public execution?

-----
I am under the strong impression that some were crucified and some were sold into slavery. Sometimes the leaders' families including wives, progeny, parents, and siblings were executed, and I suppose any other members of the households as might strike an emperor's fancy. Surely we can imagine that Nero and Calligula would have been among the bloodiest in this regard.