Vintage Advertisement - political correctness not really given

Go to CruxDreams.com
Not so much politically incorrect ads, as an incorrect product.
When I was a child dinosaurs ruled the Earth and a popular product for children were candy cigarettes and cigars. Often sold in packs that looked like the real thing, they came in the form of paper wrapped chocolate sticks (which I can't find pictures of), a chalky peppermint flavored stick with a bit of red at the tip (so it looked lit) or bubblegum.
ad48.jpgad49.jpgad50.jpgad51.jpgad52.jpgad53.jpgad54.jpgad55.jpg
These played to a child's desire to imitate adults and were sold in a time when most adults smoked. I doubt anyone (other than the American tobacco industry) thought they would actually influence kids to smoke.
When I was 15, I graduated to the real thing.
BTW: I think that last one is from Nixon's 1960 presidential campaign. They probably were selling the real thing to grown-ups and candy ones to kids. That Tricky Dick, what a guy.

When I was a child dinosaurs ruled the Earth and a popular product for children were candy cigarettes and cigars. Often sold in packs that looked like the real thing, they came in the form of paper wrapped chocolate sticks (which I can't find pictures of), a chalky peppermint flavored stick with a bit of red at the tip (so it looked lit) or bubblegum.
They looked like this, right?:sifone:
ch_cig.jpg

I recall, the paper wrapping often stuck to the chocolate, and was difficult to remove entirely!:confused:

I ate a lot of them, but it did not make me a smoker.

, a chalky peppermint flavored stick with a bit of red at the tip
I don't remember chocolate ones in England, but always had a pack of the red-tipped variety to offer to my mates. The trick was to see how long you could hold it between your lips without the end dissolving, and could you talk without it falling out.
I ate a lot of them, but it did not make me a smoker.
Me neither.