Berlin Diary

Go to CruxDreams.com

Barbaria1

Rebel Leader
Staff member
Hello everyone. I am starting a new serialized story prompted in part by my recent time in Berlin as well as by bits and pieces from several old films and books. Here is the opening episode. New episodes will be posted here daily, so watch for them and enjoy.

Berlin Diary

Episode 1. Thursday afternoon, 30 July 1936.

With nose pressed against the glass, I gazed out as my train pulled into the cavernous interior of Berlin’s Anhalter Bahnhof. I studied the expectant faces of the clusters of people standing on the platform under the “Gleis 4” signs, each searching for the faces of loved ones or friends aboard the green-liveried Deutsche Reichsbahn coaches.

With a hiss of steam and the metallic howl of locking steel wheels, the express shuddered to a jolting halt. The man sitting next to me rose from his seat and kindly reached up to the overhead rack to hand me my suitcase. Thanking him politely, I exited the compartment and made my way down the corridor to the carriage door.

I hopped down to the platform, pressing my little cloche hat to my head, and joined the throng streaming toward the prominently placed overhead sign that read “Ausgang.” As we neared the end of the platform, everyone dutifully queued up before a checkpoint manned by two brown-shirted SA stormtroopers … one sitting at a small table, the other standing behind, hands on hips … both stony-faced.

The SA men were taking their work seriously. The queue inched forward. People chatted. No one seemed anxious. Germans are certainly docile in the face of authority, I noted. Bored, I craned my neck to stare in wonder at the station’s huge vaulted iron and glass canopy roof.